Avon senior Troy Sudbrook, a University of Toledo commit, was recently named to the All-Lorain County First Team by the Lorain County Baseball Coaches Association. Prior to the all-county nod, he was named to the All-Southwestern Conference First Team as a position player.

The Lorain County Baseball Coaches Association released its annual all-county selections last week, with numerous West Life coverage area athletes making the cut.

All-county teams were broken down by division, with Div. III-IV combined.

In Div. I, Amherst’s Caleb McGee was named Player of the Year, while Avon Lake’s Andrew Means was named Coach of the Year after leading the Shoremen to a Southwestern Conference championship. Troy Sudbrook and Ryan Starr (Avon), Aidan Grabowski, Nick Gorczyca and Perry Miller (Avon Lake) and Jacob Flesher (North Ridgeville all made the First Team as position players.

Honorable Mention position players and pitchers included Karl Wearsch and Andrew Siler (Avon), Gage Duesler, David Phillips, Dominic Poltrone and Kevin McKinley (Avon Lake) and Gavin Padgett (North Ridgeville).

There were three Players of the Year in Div. II, including Firelands’ Aaron Urban, Vermilion’s Jacob Krausher and Keystone’s Nathan Archer. Firelands’ Dan Ransom was named Coach of the Year.

Mason Besserer and Carter Vilevac made the First Team, while Jose DeLeon was an Honorable Mention.

Alex Carandang (Elyria Catholic) and James Green (Open Door Christian) were named co-Players of the Year for Div. III-IV. Panthers head man Bruce Lisicky was named Coach of the Year.

Lorain County All-Star game canceled

Two attempts were made to play the annual Lorain County All-Star baseball game at North Ridgeville High School last week, but rain altered those plans. The game will not be rescheduled, as many of the athletes who were set to play in the game have since started summer ball.

The rosters for the all-star game included:

Red Team: Kevin McKinley, Aidan Grabowski and Nick Gorczyca (Avon Lake), Mason Besserer and Jose DeLeon (Brookside), Chris Phillips and Aidan Timko (Elyria Catholic), Zack Brill and Evan Zidar (Firelands), Carlos Gonzalez and Jose Rivera (Lorain), Jack Page (Oberlin), James Green and Mitch Abram (Open Door Christian), Carter Klausing and Nick Werth (Vermilion) and Wyatt Sasak and Jacob Evans (Wellington). Alternates: Gabe Pawloski (Brookside), Sky Paslowski, John Grasso and Aidan Debolt (Elyria Catholic), Tyler Ruth, Caden Bomback and Aaron Urban (Firelands), Ezekiel Rivera (Lorain), Bailey Loescher and Josiah Munger (Open Door Christian), Ethan Young and Cody Schultz (Vermilion) and Cameron Brinker (Wellington).

Blue Team: Karl Wearsch and George Berki (Avon), Caleb McGee, Dylan Bailey and Josh Qualls (Amherst), Nathan Klamer and Josiah Moon (Clearview), Trevor Hottell and Jeff Grzywna (Columbia), Stephen Larkins and Dereck Lopez (Elyria), Nathan Archer and Nathen Prunty (Keystone), Bryce Sanders and Austin Isenhart (Midview) and Jacob Flesher and Dylan Peregord (North Ridgeville). Alternates: Matt Granitto (Avon), Julian Mendez, Kyle Mettler and Tyler Green (Clearview), Austin Stair (Columbia) and Rocky Houston (Keystone).

Cardinals earn LCL honors

Following an 18-9 season and a run to the regional round of the Division III state tournament, members of the Brookside softball team received awards from the Lorain County League.

Making the First Team were Leah Musall and Lindsey Nader. Faye Clark made the Second Team and Lexi Barlome was an Honorable Mention. The LCL Player of the Year was Keystone’s Madi Herrington, while Wellington’s Duane Sunagel and Clearview’s Mark Majoras shared Coach of the Year honors.

Heisterkamp wins NOPGA Tour event

Incoming Magnificat sophomore Cara Heisterkamp has already established herself as one of the top high school golfers in Ohio following her Division I runner-up finish at the state tournament last fall. She’s also gotten off to a strong start to the summer.

She fired a two-over 74 to win the Northern Ohio PGA Junior Tour event at Hudson’s Lake Forest Golf Club on June 1, edging Aurora’s Brooklyn Millard by three strokes. Heisterkamp, a Westlake native, shot a 36 on the front nine and 38 on the back to win the girls’ 16-19 age group.

In the boys 16-19 tournament, Avon Lake resident and St. Ignatius High School student Michael Van Etten tied for seventh with an 80. Avon’s Jack Gerborg, who helped lead the Eagles to a Southwestern Conference title last fall, tied for ninth with an 81.

Ridgeville trap team bests Ohio field

The North Ridgeville High School trap shooting team took first place in the trap and skeet events during the Ohio Clay Target League Conference 4 tournament last week.

After five weeks of competition, the Rangers totaled 6,919.5 points to claim the top spot over second-place Gallia Academy (5,709.5). In skeet, the Rangers scored 220 points to hold off East Clinton (170).

In trap, senior Daniel Konesky and eight grader Jesse Scott finished first and third, respectively, in boys competition. Sophomore Vanessa Donato, freshman Lillian West and junior Rhiannon Vance took the top three spots, respectively, on the girls side. West placed second overall in skeet competition, with an average of 20.7 targets hit out of 25. Donato and sophomore David Hoag placed third and fourth.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.