Adelaide Aquilla

Only a sophomore, Fairview gymnast Tessa Kelly added to the program’s growing history March 6 at Hilliard Bradley High School in Columbus.

Kelly placed 10th in the floor exercise with a score of 9.375, earning All-Ohio honors and becoming the first Warrior in school history to place at the state gymnastics meet. She was one of two qualifiers along with teammate and fellow sophomore Georgia Ross, who competed in the balance beam event and placed 31st (8.425). They joined 2019 graduate Olivia Zappe as the only state qualifiers in school history.

Kelly and Ross made up the balance of this year’s Warriors team, which trains with the St. Joseph Academy roster under the guidance of coach Darcy Ranallo.

Hockey title eludes Eagles

The rubber match between the St. Edward and Toledo St. Francis hockey teams March 14 turned out to also be the state championship game, and it didn’t go the Eagles’ way in a 2-1 loss at the OhioHealth Ice Haus in Columbus.

Devon Homier scored on the power play midway through the first period to give the Knights (27-3-2) the 1-0 lead, and strong defense and goaltending kept the Eagles (26-4-1) off the board until Jack Mansour was able to tie it less than two minutes into the third period.

With 9:21 left in regulation, Luc Kuhr scored a power play goal to give the Knights the lead for good and clinch their first state title since 2015.

The teams met twice during the regular season, skating to a 3-3 tie during a November tournament and following up with a 6-3 Eagles victory on Dec. 19.

The Eagles’ last state title came in 2008. To reach the final game, they first knocked off Upper Arlington, 3-0, on March 13.

All-District hoops teams announced

The 2020-21 Northeast Lakes All-District boys basketball team, voted on by members of the Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association, was recently released. In Division I, Mentor’s Luke Chicone was named Player of the Year, while his coach, Bob Krizancic, was named Coach of the Year.

Locally in Division I, Michael Bova (St. Edward) was named to the Second Team and Dominic Rini (Avon) was named to the Third Team.

In Division II, Ramelle Arnold (Warrensville Heights) and Al Iacofano (Perry) were named the Player and Coach of the Year, respectively. Ashton Price (Bay) was named to the First Team and Tyler DeSimpelare (Lutheran West) made the Second Team.

The Division III Player of the Year was Jay Billingsley (Cleveland Heights Lutheran East) and the Coach of the Year was Ryan Shontz (Andover Pymantuning Valley). From Fairview, Ethan McQuate made the Second Team and Danny Hanton made the Third Team.

After the girls voting, Strongsville’s Reagan Bass was named the Division I Player of the Year, while Olmsted’s Jordan Eaton was named Coach of the Year.

Locally in Division I, North Ridgeville’s Grace Kingery and Avon’s Abby Liber made the First Team, Magnificat’s Clare Chambers made the Second Team and St. Joseph Academy’s Charlotte Adler, Magnificat’s Mollie LaSpisa made the Third Team.

The Division II Player of the Year was Shaker Heights Laurel’s Taylor Thierry and the Coach of the Year was Perry’s Roy Infalvi, Jr. Rocky River’s Ava Patti and Sophia Murray were named to the Second and Third Teams, respectively.

LC8 honors

A number of Brookside athletes were recognized when the Lorain County League recently announced its all-league teams.

In wrestling, Karson Nail (182 pounds) was named to the Second Team, Eric Saddler (120), Shawn Moore (126) and Jon Whitmer (285) were named to the Third Team and Xander Mincey (195) was an Honorable Mention.

The Most Valuable Player for boys basketball was Oberlin’s Trajen Chambers, while the Coach of the Year was Keystone’s Jeff Holzhauer. From the Cardinals, Avery Young was named an Honorable Mention.

Brooke Rebman was named the LCL girls basketball MVP, while Dave Kudela was named Coach of the Year. From Brookside, Sarah Torres was named to the Second Team, while Savanah Walls was an Honorable Mention.

SWC lists top swimmers

With the swimming and diving season complete, the Southwestern Conference announced its all-league lists March 10.

On the girls side, Avon’s Alex Downing was named Most Valuable Swimmer while Adam Crabtree, also of the Eagles, was named Coach of the Year.

West Life coverage area girls making the First Team were all from Avon, and included the group of Mallory Mackay, Bridget Kurtzweil, Rayna Swope and Eva Molenaar (200-yard medley relay), Downing (200 freestyle, 100 butterfly), Kurtzweil (200 individual medley, 100 breaststroke), Molenaar (100 backstroke), Mackay (100 free), the team of Mackay, Kurtzweil, Downing and Paige Kay (200 free relay) and the team of Kay, Swope, Molenaar and Downing (400 free relay).

On the Second Team were Grace Kelsheimer (Westlake, 1-meter diving), Olivia Slivinski (Avon Lake, 200 free, 500 free), Katie Williams (Avon Lake, 200 IM), Bree Lumpkin (Avon Lake) and Violet Siftar (Avon) in the 100 breaststroke, Mackay (50 free), Swope (100 butterfly, 100 backstroke), the team of Maggie Tobin, Emilie Tobin, Sydney Peer and Julia Houser (Westlake, 200 medley relay, 200 free relay) and the team of Slivinski, Emily Hauck, Abigail Okuma and Katie Williams (Avon Lake, 400 free relay).

Westlake’s Luke Heberle was named the SWC’s boys MVP, while Olmsted Falls’ Rich Szczepinski earned Coach of the Year.

Locally, the First Team consisted of Heberle (50 free, 100 free), Joe Swain (Avon Lake, 200 free, 500 free), Andrew Margolin (North Ridgeville, 100 fly), Evan Hammerschmidt (Avon, 100 breast) and the team of Heberle, Shane Quinn, Liam Pirnat and Landon Clarke (Westlake, 200 medley relay).

The Second Team included Hammerschmidt (200 IM), Ryan Urban (Avon, 100 fly), the team of Evan and Ryan Hammerschmidt, Urban and Michael Wilson (200 medley relay), the team of Heberle, Clarke, Joe Brown and Elijah Harbaugh (Westlake, 200 free relay) and the team of Swain, Nick Haven, Quinn Kroneker and Riley King (Avon Lake, 400 free relay).

College commitment

Westlake senior Blake Wolfe, who shined in a reserve role for the Demons boys basketball team this past season, announced on March 11 that he will continue his career at Bluffton University.

Former Blue Streak wins national title

Ohio State University junior Adelaide Aquilla, a Rocky River resident and 2017 Magnificat High School graduate, won the national championship in the shot put at the 2021 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships on March 13.

On her fourth throw of the day at the Randal Tyson Track Center in Fayetteville, Ark., she covered a distance of 59 feet, 5 ½ inches, which was not only good enough to best the field, but also set a new school record, surpassing the 58-6 thrown by Sade Olatoye in 2019.

Aquilla, a walk-on, was named the Field Athlete of the Championships as a result. Previously, she was a two-time Big Ten Indoor shot put champion (2020 and 2021). She is only the sixth Buckeye in history to win an indoor national title.

And she’s no stranger to rewriting record books. During her senior year at Magnificat, her throw of 45-4 at the Division I district meet at Amherst set a meet record and also eclipsed the school record of 43-8 previously set by Lindsey Arundel in 2001.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.