Playing in its third Division I state semifinal since 2015, the St. Joseph Academy volleyball team fell 3-0 to Cincinnati Mount Notre Dame Nov. 13. Set scores were 25-11, 25-15 and 25-14.

Carly Hendrickson and Ally Christman carried the Cougars (22-2) at the net with 15 and 14 kills, respectively. Megan Wielonski recorded 29 assists and Ava Wolfer had 10 digs in the team’s third straight-set victory over the Jaguars (16-10) this season.

Heaven Bartell led the Jaguars with 12 kills, four digs and two blocks. Kirsten Barrett had a team-high 23 assists to go with three kills and four digs, and Maxine Springer had five kills and two digs.

The Cougars went on to win the state title Sunday 3-1 over Padua.

Durbin steps down from Ranger football

On Nov. 11, North Ridgeville varsity football coach Luke Durbin announced that he was stepping down from a post he’d occupied since 2014.

Durbin took over a Rangers program that had made one playoff appearance in its history and guided it to the tournament in his second year, 2015. The Rangers went 7-3 that season before losing in their Region 4 playoff opener to Perrysburg, 35-0.

After going 12-8 in Durbin’s first two seasons, the Rangers were 15-35 over the next five, including a 2-8 mark this season.

“As of today I have officially stepped down as the head coach of the North Ridgeville football program,” Durbin said in a statement posted to his Twitter account. “I feel it is best for both myself and the team. It has been a fun journey. I have had the honor of working for an outstanding administration and working with some great coaches. I’ve had the privilege of coaching some fantastic athletes and many excellent young men. Thank you all! Ranger Pride!”

All-SWC football

Avon and Avon Lake, which met for the Division II, Region 6 championship Nov. 6, were well-represented at the top of the Southwestern Conference’s all-league selections last week.

Eagles quarterback Niko Pappas was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Shoremen lineman Jacob Sintic was named Defensive Player of the Year. Shoremen tackle Alex Padgett was named Lineman of the Year, Amherst’s Alden Steele was named Specialty Player of the Year, and Avon’s Mike Elder won Coach of the Year.

The First Team included Mason Bingham, Mitchell Dupras, Jake Frye, Devon Hunter, Michael Matlak, Michael Ptacek, Nathanial Vakos and Pappas of Avon, Nate Cikalo, Michael Corbo, Gage Duesler, Griffin Lidyard, Kadyn Viancourt, Padgett and Sintic of Avon Lake, Anthony Guercio, Jaeden Roman and Collin Strong of North Olmsted and Chris Douglas and Dom Farago of North Ridgeville.

Making the Second Team were Kam Erskin, Desmond Kelly, Austin Mitchell and Kaya Yonkers of Avon, Mitchell Fedders, Joe Lubertozzi, Sean Summers and Owen Wiley of Avon Lake, Kosta Ermidis of North Olmsed and Dain Bartlebaugh of North Ridgeville.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.