Bay senior guard Ashton Price, a Baldwin-Wallace University commit, was named to the Division II All-Ohio Second Team on April 6.

On April 5-6, the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association unveiled its All-Ohio boys basketball selections for Divisions I-IV.

Locally, St. Edward junior Michael Bova (16.8 points per game this season) was named an Honorable Mention in Division I.

Bay senior Ashton Price (25.9 ppg) was named to the Division II Second Team, while Lutheran West’s Tyler DeSimpelare (17.6 ppg) was an Honorable Mention. Fairview senior Ethan McQuate (15.2 ppg) was named a Division III Honorable Mention.

Former Longhorn to helm CWRU wrestling

On April 8, Lutheran West alum Josh Malave was named coach of the Case Western Reserve University wrestling program.

Malave will be moving on from the same role at his alma mater, the University of Mount Union. He was named the Ohio Athletic Conference Coach of the Year following the 2019-20 season.

Prior to coaching at the college level, Malave led the Firelands High School program for two years and was named the Lorain County Coach of the Year in 2015 and the Patriot Athletic Conference Coach of the Year in 2016.

Malave graduated from Lutheran West in 2008. Also an all-conference football player, he was a standout on the mat, winning two conference titles, qualified for districts three times and placed third at the Division II state tournament as a senior 130-pounder. He was inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame in 2019.

All-GCHSHL selections

The Greater Cleveland High School Hockey League announced its award winners last week, with a host of local athletes making the cut.

Out of the Red Division, the Rocky River trio of Danny Asmar, Hayden Weaver and Chris Cogan were named to the First Team, while their teammates, Reece Rochester and Ian Opdycke, made the Second Team. Zach Pejeau was named an Honorable Mention.

In the White Division, Michael Perusek, Cole Emerine and Ben Boka of Avon, Isaac Young, Luke Farthing and Brady Starck of Avon Lake and Justin Christ of North Olmsted made the First Team. Logan Brown and Will Umland (Avon), Konner Nilson and A.J. Jagels (Avon Lake) and Ryan Bonham (North Olmsted) made the Second Team. Matt Folds (Avon), Kevin Graney (Avon Lake) and Brian Shackleton (North Olmsted) were named Honorable Mention.

In the Blue Division, Lakewood’s Alex Blinky and Gavin Fielder, Westlake’s Lucca Bohan and Matthew Smith and Bay’s Dylan Vidmar were named to the First Team. Making the Second Team were Eli Ladue and Jude Johnson (Lakewood), Colt Rujawitz and Alex Rendziak (Westlake) and Nathan Rosenhaus (Bay). Honorable Mentions included Austin Scherer (Lakewood), Ryan Sharak (Westlake) and Henry Sjoberg (Bay).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.